/ / / /

Skills Curriculum - Essential Skills

Essential Skills Wales

The school provides the pupils with the opportunity to gain Essential Skills Wales (ESW) qualifications in the areas of:

  • Communication
  • Application of Number
  • Information Communication Technology

Qualifications are available from Entry Level 1 through to Level 4.

The most basic communication qualification includes:

  • Speaking and listening
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Drafting and correcting
  • Answering questions
  • Life skills
  • Recognising signpost meanings
  • Language
  • Finding definitions¬†

The most basic application of number qualification includes:

  • Number
  • Ordering/sequencing
  • Sorting
  • Calculations
  • Problem solving
  • Money
  • Shape
  • Mathematical language

The most basic Information Communication Technology qualification includes:

  • Health and safety
  • Keyboard skills
  • Using a mouse/touchscreen
  • Opening and reading email
  • Saving work with suitable filenames
  • Inserting pictures
  • printing

Each area of skill is assessed at levels 1-4 via an internally assessed and externally moderated portfolio. For ESW Entry level, awarding bodies can determine their own method of assessment. WJEC's are task-based controlled assessments with the option for centres to devise their own.

The school has been entering pupils since 2007 when they were previously known as key skills qualifications. Since 2012 they have been renamed Essential Skills Wales. Many pupils have entered work portfolios or completed controlled tasks set by the awarding body, WJEC, and gained qualifications and transferable skills which they can use outside of school as well as in the classroom. The controlled tasks are linked to real life scenarios and benefit the pupils immensely.